The Gosh! Authority 03.04.19

Hello!

Big event this week: the launch of oh no, the first collection of Alex Norris’ wildly popular Webcomic Name! Come down and join Alex to celebrate its release on Thursday the 4th April, 7-9pm, and pick up one of our limited edition bookplates while they last (preorder here - those things are selling like hotcakes). More details here.

750w.png

Speaking of big launches, last week’s launch of Camouflage with writer Dr Sara Bargiela and artist Sophie Standing was absolutely rammed! The book was a total sellout (though we’ll have more signed copies in again soon), so a great success all around. The book is excellent, so be sure to check it out!

FIVE TO WATCH THIS WEEK

WAR OF REALMS #1 (OF 6)
Writer:
Jason Aaron
Artist:
Russell Dauterman
Publisher:
Marvel

Hurrah, an event we can get behind! Not only is this a concise 6 issue story (never mind all the ancillary spin-off books if you don’t fancy them), but it’s by a creative team that more than proved themselves in the pages of Thor - one of the definitive Thor teams, in fact. Malekith has conquered all the Norse realms but one: Midgard, the realm of humanity. The invasion begins on the streets of New York City! Because of course it does. This looks like a total throwback blast, a big superhero team-up book that delivers.

JESUSFREAK HC
Writer:
Joe Casey
Artist:
Ben Marra
Publisher:
Image

Joe Casey and Ben Marra working on a controversial project? Who ever saw that coming? It’s the greatest tale ever told, as seen through the eyes of two of the best purveyors of feverish exploitation comics in the industry. Jesus of Nazareth tries to find his place in the violent world of the first century, and turning the other cheek isn’t a quality he seems to have learned yet. Fists, swords and heads will fly!

MAJOR X #1 (OF 6)
Writer / Artist:
Rob Liefeld
Publisher:
Marvel

A nuanced tale of identity, the nature of time and what it means to be an outcast. With his subtle line and careful storytelling, Liefeld really gets to the heart of what it means to be a mutant in a world that hates mutants. A tale destined to sit at the high table of the artform. Just like that issue of Bloodstrike where someone steals Bloodstrike’s penis and puts it in a jar.

(We actually love a bit of Liefeld around here: nothing scratches the very particular itch for ridiculous superhero comics quite like it.)

MARVEL TEAM-UP #1
Writer:
Eve Ewing
Artist:
Joey Vazquez
Publisher:
Marvel

The return of the classic Spider-Man team-up title! Kind of amazing it’s taken them this long, really. Bit of a wrinkle this time around though: it looks like the book will feature team-ups with both Spidey and Ms Marvel, who share the spotlight for the first three-issue arc. There’s also some kind of flip-book thing going on, but there’s not a lot of info about how that’s going to work. Two stories focusing on each character leading to a meeting in the middle? Maybe…pick it up and find out yourself!

SECRET VOICE HC GN VOL 01
Writer / Artist: Zack Soto
Publisher: Floating World

Lovely to see a collection of Secret Voice at last, the comic by Zack Soto that was a cornerstone of the launch of his Study Group Comics website. After a successful Kickstarter last year, Floating World have picked up the publishing baton for this fantasy tale with a solid underground comics flavour. A good one for fans of Head Lopper or Orc Stain.

OTHER HIGHLIGHTS THIS WEEK

  • AMBER BLAKE #1 - A new revenge thriller by Jade Lagardere & Butch Guice. Looks like a good shout for anyone missing Velvet.

  • MARVEL ACTION BLACK PANTHER #1 - A new younger readers IDW Marvel title written by Kyle Baker with art by Samu.

  • OPERATIC GN - A queer-posiive kids graphic novel that intertwines middle-school drama with the world of opera and the life of Maria Callas, by Kyo Maclear & Byron Eggenschwiler.

  • SECTION ZERO #1 (OF 6) - “Jack Kirby does the X-Files” is the high concept pitch for this new mini-series by Karl Kesel & Tom Grummett. A reliable pair for enjoyable adventure comics.

  • STILETTO #1 (OF 3) OFFICER DOWN - Police corruption is rife in the crime thriller by Palle Schmidt.

  • THE FREAK GN - Matt Lesniewski spins a tale of the misfortune of the world’s ugliest man.

  • YE TP - A whimsical fantasy tale with beautifully lush art, by award winning (and ridiculously young) Brazilian artist Guilherme Petreca.

That’s it for this week. I’m outta here!

Andrew.

Gosh Comics