The Gosh! Authority 27.03.19

Hello!

CamoLaunchParty.png

We’re honoured to be hosting the launch of Camouflage: The Hidden Lives of Autistic Women with authors Dr Sarah Bargiela and Sophie Standing this Thursday, the 28th March, 7-9pm. It’s an important, beautifully put-together book that should be on your GN reading list for the year. Get yourself along and get a signed copy! More details here.

But before that, don’t miss our March installment of the Gosh / Broken Frontier Drink’n’Draw, with special guests Iris Erlings, Alexandra Cook, Aneurin Wright, and Kay Wilson! As usual, assemble here from 6.30pm before heading along to the pub at 7pm. More details here!

The always-lovely Christian Ward joined us last Saturday to sign copies of his latest release, Invisible Kingdom #1, the hit new series he’s doing with G Willow Wilson as a part of the Berger Books line. Chris signed and sketched for fans, and we were lucky enough to end up with a stack of signed copies of his new artbook Mixed Fables.

DoRtIzOX0AADJB_.png

If you’d like a copy set aside or mailed out, drop us an email to info@goshlondon.com!

FIVE TO WATCH THIS WEEK

DETECTIVE COMICS #1000
Writer / Artist:
Various
Publisher:
DC

The landmark issue is here! A bumper-sized, 96-page bonanza of Bat-creators telling tales of Batman’s past, present and future, including the introduction of the Arkham Knight, a figure who has a big role to play in Bats’ future. A largely stand-alone affair, the line-up of creators on this issue is mind-boggling: Peter J. Tomasi, Brian Michael Bendis, Paul Dini, Warren Ellis, Geoff Johns, Tom King, Dennis O'Neil, Christopher Priest, Kevin Smith, Scott Snyder, Doug Mahnke, Neal Adams, Greg Capullo, Tony S. Daniel, Steve Epting, Kelley Jones, Andy Kubert, Alex Maleev and Dustin Nguyen are all in here for a spell in this piece of comics history.

STL111924.png

DIAL H FOR HERO #1 (OF 6)
Writer:
Sam Humphries
Artist:
Joe Quinones
Publisher:
DC

The next title in the Wonder Comics line, bringing back the classic Hero Dial with a brand new protagonist in the form of teenage daredevil Miguel. The new series steps away from the most recent take on the concept by China Miéville, returning to a more classical, fun approach, while trying to bring some innovative uses of the form into play. If you’re unfamilar, the Hero Dial looks like an old rotary phone, and when a user dials H-E-R-O they are granted a super-power for just an hour. Humphries and Quinones are both bringing their A-game to the book, with the intention of changing the reading experience with each change of powers. This is promising to be a fun six issue ride!

MERA TIDEBREAKER TP
Writer:
Danielle Paige
Artist:
Stephen Byrne
Publisher:
DC Ink

The first of DC’s new DC Ink imprint, all-new graphic novels designed for YA (12-18 year old) readers and written by star authors from that field. It’s one of two youth-oriented lines they are launching, but more on the other in just a second. Jumping off the success of the Aquaman film, the spotlight is on Mera, framed as a fantasy tale of a young princess who must struggle with her obligations, political turmoil, first love and the decision to become hero or villain.

SUPER SONS THE POLARSHIELD PROJECT TP
Writer:
Ridley Pearson
Artist:
Ile Gonzalez
Publisher:
DC Zoom

The other imprint in DC’s youth-oriented plan, DC Zoom is targeted at middle grade readers (8-12 years), with titles focused more on light-hearted adventure. First out the gate is a Super Sons title, starring Jon Kent and Damian Wayne as they team up with a mysterious girl named Candace to tackle a sinister conspiracy behind the melting of the world’s ice caps. Melting faster than usual, that is.

SABRINA TEENAGE WITCH #1 (OF 5)
Writer:
Kelly Thompson
Artist:
Veronica Fish
Publisher:
Archie

Ditching the horror antics of the Chilling Adventures, this new Sabrina series introduces the fan-fave to the Archie Forever continuity. No Cthulhu marriages here, as the teen witch moves to Riverdale with her aunts, and tries to balance her burgeoning magic powers with life in an all-American high school. Rivals! BFFs! Love interests! Kelly Thompson brings a fun, light touch to the book, matched perfectly by Veronica Fish’s snappy art.

OTHER HIGHLIGHTS THIS WEEK

  • ASGARDIANS OF THE GALAXY TP VOL 01 - The first collection of the Norse-themed cosmic team, by Cullen Bunn, Matteo Lolli & Michael Del Mundo.

  • BAD LUCK CHUCK #1 - Cursed at birth, Charlene "Chuck" Manchester hires out her own bad luck, providing disaster where someone else can profit. A fun looking series by Lela Gwenn & Matthew Dow Smith.

  • BARRIER LIMITED ED SLIPCASE - Never to be collected, Brian K Vaughn and Marcos Martin’s tale of aliens and immigration can now be bundled into a lovely, limited edition slipcase, available empty or with all the issues.

  • CODA TP VOL 01 - The first collection of Si Spurrier and Matias Bergara’s post-apocalyptic fantasy tale.

  • CRETACEOUS GN - A silent dinosaur adventure in the tradition of Age of Reptiles and Tyrant, by Tadd Galusha.

  • GLOW #1 - Yep, you read that right! A comic-book spin-off of the hit Netflix show!

  • HOUSE OF PENANCE LIBRARY EDITION HC - A lovely new deluxe hardcover edition of Peter J Tomasi and Ian Bertram’s supernatural tale of the Winchester house. One of our 2017 books of the year!

  • MARVEL RISING #1 (OF 5) - Another mini-series with the all-star team of Ms Marvel and Squirrel Girl!

  • MIND MGMT OMNIBUS TP VOL 01 - Matt Kindt’s amazing psychic thriller gets a series of bumper softcover collections.

  • OUR SUPER ADVENTURE HC VOL 01 - Sarah Graley’s autobiographical comics are now published by Oni!

  • OUT OF THE BLUE HC VOL 01 - Garth Ennis and Keith Burns, the team behind the Johnny Red mini-series, come together again for this original graphic novel series, featuring tales of WWII aerial combat.

  • SCAR SC - Andrea Ferraris’ account of everyday struggles along the Mexico/US border.

  • WAR BEARS HC - Margaret Atwood, creator of A Handmaid’s Tale, Alias Grace and The Blind Assassin brings you….WAR BEARS! (actually an interesting meta tale about the comics industry in the 40’s)

And that’s it! Until next time, I have been your servant,

Andrew.