The Gosh! Authority 03.01.19

Happy New Year, friends!

Action-Comics_81_New-Years-Eve.jpg

Yes, the tired old hands of 2018 have made way for the sharp claws of 2019 and all the excitement and terror it may hold for those of us in the UK. So stock up on those cans and medicines, and settle in for another year of great comics!

download (1).png

And why not kick off with some silly bargains in our January sale? Still thousands of books and graphic novels available at knockdown prices, as well as all of our back issues at half price until Sunday the 13th January!

We had a missive from Zac Thompson & Lonnie Nadler, the masterminds behind the upcoming X-event, Age of X-Man. It’s an Age of Apocalypse-y affair spinning out of the events of X-Men Disassembled, with an Alpha and Omega issue at each end of a number of mini-series set in an alternate timeline. Anyway, Zac and Lonnie have sent through a very useful FAQ for the curious, which I’ll paste in below.

Age of X-Man FAQ

1. What the heck is it?

Age of X-Man is an X-Men event not unlike Age of Apocalypse. It’s a sprawling alternate universe comprised of 6 interconnected mini-series, an Alpha issue, and an Omega issue. It runs from January 30th to July 17th 2019.

2. What if I didn’t read all of Uncanny X-Men: Disassembled?

No problem! As long as you know who the X-Men are and can read, you will still understand and enjoy all the Age of X-Man titles.

3. Do I need to read every book that’s part of AoX to understand it?

Nope. The more titles you read, the richer your understanding of the world will be so we encourage it. But every series is designed to also function as a stand-alone book with its own beginning, middle, and end.

4. Do I need to read Age of X-Man: Alpha and Age of X-Man: Omega?

Yes! No matter which books you plan to follow the Alpha and Omega issues are key. Alpha functions as an essential introduction to the world. Omega will wrap everything up. FOC for the Alpha issue is Jan 7.

5. Will it replace all other X-Men titles like Age of Apocalypse?

No. Thankfully we’ve learned from the past. Many of your favorite X-Men titles are still sticking around through AoX.

6. Is it any good?

Hell yes. The creative teams are bringing all they have to these books. Readers haven’t seen a unified world like this since 1994… and even then they have no idea what they’re in store for.

7. What books are part of this event?

The Marvelous X-Men - The flagship X-Men book. Think X-Men meets The Vision. Features a team of Jean Grey, Magneto, X-Man, Nature Girl, Colossus, Nightcrawler, X-23, and Storm.

Next Gen - The school book. For fans of Generation X and Academy X. Features Armor, Anole, Rockslide, and Glob as they attend The Summers Institute for Higher Learning.

The Amazing Nightcrawler - A Nightcrawler solo book. Kurt Wagner is the most famous person in the world, a mutant James Dean. Features Meggan, Kylun, the Cuckoos, and more!

The X-Tremists - An X-Force like book but… in a utopia. Psylocke, Blob, Iceman, Northstar and Moneta (a new character) attempt to keep the peace.

Prisoner X - The prison book. Think The Rock...but with mutants. For fans of Black Bolt. Features Bishop, Honey Badger, Polaris, and Dani Moonstar trying to figure out why and where they’re imprisoned.

Apocalypse and the X-Tracts - The spiritual revolutionaries who oppose X-Man’s vision. If hippies started Fight Club it might look like this. Features Apocalypse, Kitty Pryde, Dazzler, Eye Boy and Genesis.

There we go! Looks like a fun ride, so give it a crack if it’s your kind of thing. It’s nice to see creators reach out in this way to help us all understand what’s going on. If only publishers were so forthcoming!

Alright, new year, new comics. As you might expect, we’re a bit delayed by the bank holiday, so this week’s new releases will be arriving to go out on the shelves on Thursday this week. Keep an eye on our social media, where we’ll make some noise once it’s all out and ready for your eager little hands!

FIVE TO WATCH THIS WEEK

CONAN THE BARBARIAN #1
Writer:
Jason Aaron
Artist:
Mahmud Asrar
Publisher:
Marvel

After years at Dark Horse, Robert E Howard’s signature barbarian returns to his original comics home! And there are not many writers who would seem more suited to the task than Jason Aaron, whose Thor run has been steeped in the kind of brutal fantasy that perfectly suits the roaming Cimmerian. Mahmud Asrar should bring the goods too: his style has a dynamic muscularity that fits the Hyborian age.

KIDS STICK TOGETHER HC
Writer / Artist:
Chris Brunner, Rico Renzi
Publisher:
A Wave Blue World

A collection of art and interior pages by the combo of Brunner and Renzi, whose combination of dynamic linework and eye-popping colours always leap out from the competition. Brunner has been on our radar for more than a decade, producing criminally little comics work, but always blowing us away when he does (see his recent Miles Morales strip in the Season’s Beatings one-shot from Marvel). Along the way he formed a partnership with inker Rico Renzi which has been one of those perfectly sympatico creative endeavours. Each showcases the best in the other, to the point where their work has become inseparable. Nice to see an artbook which celebrates the pair.

RING OF NIBELUNG TP
Writer / Artist:
P Craig Russell
Publisher:
Dark Horse

We’d be remiss not to mark a new edition of this: the masterwork of Russell’s opera adaptations, taking Wagner’s Ring Cycle (itself based on the Norse myths) and adapting it into four books, now all collected in one massive 448 page tome. With his natural talent for storytelling, Russell manages to make this a gripping read for both opera fans and fantasy buffs alike. Be sure to pick it up if you’ve never read it!

MAN WITHOUT FEAR #1
Writer:
Jed MacKay
Artist:
Danilo Beyrouth
Publisher:
Marvel

Chip Zdarsky’s Daredevil run is coming, but bridging the gap between that and the tearful end of Charles Soule’s run is this weekly mini-series of character-focused one-shots. Foggy Nelson (issue #1), the Defenders (issue #2), the many loves of Matt Murdock (issue #3), the Kingpin (issue #4) and a mysterious Guardian Devil (issue #5) will all learn what it means to live in a world without a Daredevil. 

WOLVERINE LONG NIGHT ADAPTATION #1
Writer:
Ben Percy
Artist:
Marcio Takara
Publisher:
Marvel

Here’s a curious one: a comics adaptation of a hit scripted podcast starring our favourite clawed Canuck. Percy, writer of the original, returns for the comic, assisted by Green Arrow alumni Takara. It’s a murder mystery set in the far reaches of Alaska, where the main suspect is a mysterious drifter known only as Logan…

OTHER HIGHLIGHTS THIS WEEK

  • CHAMPIONS #1 - The Marvel teen team returns, by Jim Zub & Steven Cummings.

  • STAR WARS AOR OBI-WAN KENOBI #1 - Next up in the Age of the Republic series: Obi Wan, by Jody Houser & Cory Smith.

  • SUPERMAN KRYPTONITE DELUXE ED HC - A swanky new edition of the excellent Darwyn Cooke / Tim Sale Superman tale from the pages of Superman Confidential, chronicling the Man of Steel’s first encounter with kryptonite.

  • TONY STARK IRON MAN TP VOL 01 - Collecting the first arc of Dan Slott’s Iron Man run, with art by Valerio Schiti.

  • VAGABOND VALISE GN - An autobiographical tale by Siris, one of the founding fathers of the Quebec comix underground.

And that’s all for now, folks!

Andrew.















Gosh AuthorityGosh Comics