The Gosh! Authority 01.11.17

Hello!

Sticky+Monsters.jpg

This Friday John Kenn Mortensen will be here from 6 ‘til 7pm signing copies of his creepy classic Sticky Monsters, and to launch an all new Gosh! Exclusive print!

demo+sticky+monsters+A3+print+final.png

So keep the Halloween vibes rolling into the weekend and come on down to meet John (or pre-order the print online now!) Plus, we might just have some previously-unseen-in-the-UK material to get your hands on! More details here.

22815111_1511970052233199_5274621750475714770_n.png

We had a grand old time this past Saturday with our day of special Halloween-themed spookiness!

22815099_1511969945566543_2735459609943330206_n.png

The day kicked off with one of our ever-popular kids drawing tables, where a plethora of talented professionals sat alongside a gaggle of eager young artists to give some inspiration and guidance.

22851667_1512000965563441_2603885355811274861_n.png

Then we had Warwick Johnson-Cadwell and Paul Grist here signing copies of their new Mike Mignola collaborations Mr Higgins Comes Home and The Visitor, respectively.

22851735_1512001455563392_7678121002758876595_n.png

And finally we had a huge number of creators show up for the Scream & Misty Special signing, celebrating the spooky comics of old! Plenty of the talented folks behind the book were in town, and we wound up with 12 people gathered around our signing table!

We've still got signed copies of many of these books, so let us know if you'd like one set aside!

HIGHLIGHTS THIS WEEK

STL063055.png

CAPTAIN AMERICA #695
Writer
: Mark Waid
Artist: Chris Samnee
Publisher: Marvel

Mark Waid and Chris Samnee produced over 50 issues of Daredevil together and every single one blew us away. Then they gave us a brilliant year long run on Black Widow. Now they are taking over one of Marvel’s biggest legacy books, Captain America! Samnee’s clean, smooth, elegant,  illustrative style is perfect for a Steve Rogers who is back in action in the red-white-and-blue. This also sees Waid, one of the all-time great Cap writers, returning to write the character for the first time in nearly twenty years.  

Try it if you like - Captain America White / The Waid Samnee team up / Captain America The First Avenger

STL060913.png

BATMAN THE DARK PRINCE CHARMING HC BOOK 01
Writer/Artist
: Enrico Marini
Publisher: DC

Frank Miller, David Mazzucchelli, Brian Bolland, Greg Capullo, Paul Pope: the industry's best artists have given us their own unique takes on the Caped Crusader. Now we prepare for a new vision of Gotham, as master comic book creator Enrico Marini gives us The Dark Prince Charming! Marini is perhaps best known within the European comic scene for his moody and deeply textured art style and cinematic approach to storytelling, all showcased beautifully in his critically acclaimed best-selling French-language works Le Scorpion, Eagles of Rome and Gipsy. However, this will be the first time Marini will be working on a mainstream super hero book. Focused around The Joker's kidnapping of a young girl, this is a Dark Knight story that leans heavily on the detective noir side of the character, for fans of Batman Year One and T.V shows such as Luther. 

Try it if you like - Batman The Black Mirror / Blacksad / Batman Year One

STL064174.png

GRAVEDIGGERS UNION #1
Writer
: Wes Craig
Artist: Toby Cypress
Publisher: Image

Toby Cypress is maybe one of the best kept secrets in comics, and one of our favourite contemporary artists. Hyper stylised crime thriller White Suits at Dark Horse was brilliant; his issues of Omega Men with Tom King over at DC are some of the high points in an already stellar series; his new jam, the gonzo action caper Retcon with Matt Nixon is one of this years sleeper hits; and now, teaming up with Deadly Class co-creator Wes Craig, Gravediggers Union is looking to be Cypress’ break out hit. Mashing genres together to give us a supernatural comedy action book, Gravediggers Union is packed with bizarre yet wonderful ideas that hum on the page thanks to Cypress’ visual wow. An oddball twist on the Lovecraftian vision of the end of the world. 

Try it if you like - Sixth Gun / Sexcastle / Hellboy

9781447440161_IvoryTower_Cover.png

PORCELAIN SC IVORY TOWER
Writer
: Benjamin Read
Artist: Chris Wildgoose
Publisher: Improper Books

The third and final installment in Benjamin Read and Chris Wildgoose’s much adored gothic fairy tale series. Set in a world that’s a magical echo of our own, it’s an art nouveau-meets-steampunk fantasy tale with just a hint of Tintin. Set more than a decade after the events of book two, Bone China, Lady has become a Mother and is hidden away behind the high walls of her tower, cut-off from the world to keep her Children safe. Whenever a new Porcelain launches we are reminded of just how good this series is. One of the most confident young adult graphic novels on the shelves, with writing so smart and well paced and a world and characters so beautifully realised that readers of all ages are likely to fall in love. Ever read the Lies of Locke Lamora and wished for a comic version? Or wanted a world as rich and lived in as Dishonored's Dunwall to explore? Then Porcelain is for you!

Try it if you like - Dishonoured / Unwritten / Nameless City 

STL052256.png

MAN FROM THE GREAT NORTH HC
Writer / Artist:
Hugo Pratt
Publisher: IDW

A treasure trove of a book. This first English language edition of Pratt's 1980’s classic includes the full original graphic novel plus the incomplete second story of Jesuit Joe, as well as Pratt's storyboards drawn for the movie version. Fans of classic spaghetti westerns will feel right at home here, as Pratt's beautiful art unveils a frozen, harsh world of moral greys.

Try it if you like: Corto Maltese / Tex / Sergio Leone

STL064175.png

NO 1 WITH A BULLET #1
Writer
: Jacob Semahn
Artist: Jorge Corona
Publisher: Image

Writer artist duo Jacob Semahn and Jorge Corona gave us Goners, a supernatural family drama back in 2015, now they are back with No 1 With A Bullet. It's a nightmarish look at a future where invasive social media is both a path to success and an exploitative road to ruin. Speculative fiction at its best

Try it if you like - Chew / Black Cloud / Tokyo Ghost

STL058545.png

WITCH BOY GN VOL 01
Writer/Artist
: Molly Knox Ostertag
Publisher: Graphix

Ostertag, creator of the popular Strong Female Protagonist, is back with an all-new YA fantasy tale of gender roles and the courage it takes to push back against the pressure society puts upon us to conform to them. Aster is a young man who finds himself drawn to the ways of witchery, and must use his new-found powers of witchcraft to save those he cares for the most. The only problem is, in this world only girls can be witches, and boys must be shapeshifters. Good lessons for young readers, all wrapped in an exciting adventure tale!

Try it if you like - Nimona / The Nameless City / Lumberjanes

STL063854.png

BLACK LIGHTNING COLD DEAD HANDS #1
Writer
: Tony Isabella    
Artist: Clayton Henry
Publisher: DC

Black Lightning creator Isabella returns to his signature character, re-inventing him for the current, politically charged times. In his home town of Cleveland, high school teacher Jefferson Pierce is a role model for his students. As Black Lightning, he's fighting to keep them safe, even as his city's streets are invaded by local gangs with deadly super-weapons. But who's supplying them?

Try it if you like - Black Panther / Daredevil / Luke Cage

STL060914.png

DEADMAN #1
Writer/Artist: Neal Adams
Publisher: DC

Neal Adams returns to one of his signature characters, and he's bringing Batman along for the ride (not to mention Zatanna, Phantom Stranger, Dr. Fate and the Spectre!) The secret connection between Boston Brand, the League of Assassins and Ra's al Ghul is revealed in a race against time to save Nanda Parbat. Honestly, if this is even half as much fun as the totally bonkers Batman The Odyssey, then count us in!

Try it if you like - Batman The Odyssey / Deadman / Justice League Dark

ALSO OF NOTE THIS WEEK

STL064428.png
  • BATMAN THE DEVASTATOR #1 - What if Bruce Wayne was Doomsday? And what if he had a scrap with Superman and Lobo? Find out here.
  • BATMAN WHITE KNIGHT #1 (OF 8) 2ND PTG & ISSUE TWO - Sean Murphy’s smash hit Batman Elseworlds tale continues! Plus we have a stack of issue one back in stock.
  • BLACK PANTHER BY HUDLIN TP VOL 01 - The full run of Hollywood heavyweight Reginald Hudlin’s take on the Black Panther. With John Romita Jr. bringing the blockbuster visuals! 
  • BLACK TP VOL 01 - Kwanza Osajyefo & Jamal Igle's searing political superhero tale of a world where only Black people have superpowers gets a first collection.
  • JETSONS #1 - The latest addition to DC’s expanding range of excellent Hanna-Barbera comic adaptations, and with Harley Quinn scribe Jimmy Palmiotti at the helm this should be great fun! 
  • MASSIVE NINTH WAVE GN VOL 01 - Brian Wood and Garry Brown’s rising sea levels disaster comic gets a high octane prequel in Ninth Wave. 
STL058589.png
  • NAMWOLF TP VOL 01 HEART OF DARKNESS - The horror of Vietnam meets the curse of lycanthropy in this collection of Gosh fave Fabien Rangel Jr's werewolf war story.
  • ONCE & FUTURE QUEEN TP - A fun, charming and incredibly diverse modern twist on the legend of King Arthur, from the creators of Amelia Cole and the Unknown World. Collects the release
  • POWER PACK #63 - The first of Marvel’s confusingly numbered Legacy one shots. This is a really enjoyable stand alone action adventure story of the Power kids in the vein of a 90’s Saturday morning cartoon. 
  • SPOOKHOUSE TP VOL 01 - Just a little late for the spookiest day of the year but if you’re still in a Halloween mood this Eric Powell helmed all ages horror anthology is a real delight.

Happy Halloween, folks!

abbottcostellofrankenstein-still.preview.jpg

Andrew & Shaun. 
 

Gosh AuthorityGosh Comics